Easter Sunday (2015) Film Review: A Fun Throwback to the Classic Slasher Film

easter-sunday-poster

Awhile back I did a preview post for the retro Slasher Easter Sunday. I have to say, I was pretty pumped when they followed up with a screener, giving me the opportunity to review the film. So I will start with a spoiler and say that this film delivered on everything that it promised in the preview. It had an old school tone, with a classic storyline. It is also a film that knows what it is. It embraces the fact that it is a silly slasher comedy. As someone who is already a fan of the comedic horror throwback, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. Despite a small budget, it was cool to see a familiar horror icon, as well as numerous references to my favorite films from back in the day.

eastersundaystill1

Perhaps the most annoying part of the film was the guy with the voice (that’s what I’ve been calling him anyway). This guy had a voice that was more irritating than the bad guy in Who Framed Roger Rabbit. At first, I wasn’t sure how long I’d be able to handle such an over-the-top performance. I did, however, have to pay attention to the fact that it was an appropriate performance for this type of film. The viewer must remember, in this case, that an actor is probably not being that annoying by accident. Everyone making this film knew that their performances needed to have a sense of sarcasm, satire, and silliness. I found that after getting used to it, this balance was actually pretty fun to watch. I put this film up there with modern low-budge horror/comedies like Sledge and Morbid. So if you’ve seen either of those, you know what to expect. If not, check this one out and then find the other two.

eastersundaystill3

Since every slasher needs to have kills, you can’t review a film of this type without talking about the blood and make-up effects. This film had some truly bright spots in regards to brutality and death. Like every fan of this genre, though, I wondered if there could have had a little bit more. I think I expected more gore of the practical old school variety. It is a modern film though. So once again, it was about balance. While I tend to appreciate gore over comedy, even in my horror/comedies, I also appreciate every filmmakers’ interpretation of this growing genre. I think some of them lean more towards dialogue driven comedy, like Sledge. Others, like Gutterballs, want to more experimental in regards to gore. This film focused more on the over-the-top nature of a satirical approach to the Slasher film. I would definitely recommend this film to any fan of indie film, slashers, comedies, and horror/comedies. It is just one of those films that you need to watch for the experience. It is horror that is fun. So while that isn’t always the point of horror, I don’t have a problem with it whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

