The Confession of Fred Krueger (2015) Film Review: A Free Fan Film for the Nightmare Purist

wpid-2c05e5ba-3b36-4262-a8d2-f514a9dde1b9.png

It isn’t too often that a filmmaker freely shares their film on YouTube when the movie is actually good. It seems like the free stuff is out there for hobbyists or people just trying to make a name for themselves. This of course is kinda the point of social media. It is, after all, the only way I can get people to read my shitty movie reviews. Shit, half the time I feel like I’m talking to myself here. In the end, I do it for myself, and so do the other bloggers, Instagrammers, filmmakers, and YouTubers out there. Apparently, Nathan Thomas Milliner had the same idea as the rest of us. The only difference between him and me, is that he is really good at what he is doing.

wpid-2d0e00dc-37d0-4040-8092-a75b432504d7.png

This is a thirty minute fan film that acts as a prequel to the original film. It takes place when Fred Krueger, in human form, is first arrested and questioned about his involvement in the murders of numerous children. Taking place in the interrogation room, the film gives you the opportunity to hear his side of the whole story. It is an insightful look into the mind of a maniac. It is a sick tour through his twisted childhood, right up to his first murder.

This origin story is based on Wes Craven’s original creation. It also borrows from the story The Life and Death of Freddy Krueger, written by Jeffrey Cooper. It is very well acted by both characters; but, it is Kevin Roach, as Freddy Krueger, that will truly blow you away. He definitely has the look, creepy mannerisms, and line delivery that will quickly convince you that he could be the young Freddy Krueger.

wpid-2df749f9-3da6-4f49-a88d-fd9ad8d8e01d.png

Aside from the acting, this is really a good-looking film. I found myself completely blown away by the quality of what one would expect to be a low-budget fan film. I asked director Nathan Thomas Milliner about the budget of the film. I was very intrigued by how he could pay to make something that seemed very expensive, without trying to get his money back. It turns out that it really wasn’t as expensive as you would think. It was, in fact, made for $1,600! Now, I would probably still try to make my money back; but, that’s because I’m a greedy jerk. Milliner, on the other hand, felt like he was giving back. When I asked him for a quote about the film, he said, The Confession of Fred Krueger was a film I had been wanting to see since 1988. But New Line never made it. So I decided to make it. To take Fred Krueger back to his roots. Back to that outsider/vagrant that Wes Craven saw one night out his window as a kid. I wanted to make Freddy scary again. I made the film because I had to. It was my tribute to Wes Craven’s vision and something I made it for the fans who have also been waiting for the original Freddy Krueger to return. My love letter.”

So you see, this was a true work of selfless art. A fan film for the fans, made by someone looking to honor the master, Wes Craven. For this reason, money was not an object. The budget still blows me away, but I believe that really speaks to the talent around the director. Everyone involved with this film is highly talented and good at making a little money go a very long way.

wpid-e1ab4846-8643-4150-a405-845e048c05c4.png

You need to see this movie. You can watch it by clicking here for the YouTube video.

This post is dedicated to the great Wes Craven. A Nightmare on Elm Street, after all, is the film that gave this horror fanatic a life-long obsession with all things terrifying.

One thought on “The Confession of Fred Krueger (2015) Film Review: A Free Fan Film for the Nightmare Purist”

Leave a Reply

