Bad Blood (199?) Film Review: Vultra Video Review Series #2

image

The main thing you need to remember when watching many of the Vultra films is the fact that you are watching many of the filmmakers’ early attempts in film. This means you are going to see films with incredibly low budgets, amateur actors, and low quality sound. Some are films shot by hand, with cameras that many of the younger readers have never even seen before. Low-budget filmmakers today can at least have better looking and sounding films just from the technological advances in film equipment over the past 20 years.

Bad Blood is a film that Marcus Koch started shooting in high school. This film is not even on IMDB. Since the creation of this film, Koch has gone on to direct 100 Tears and do amazing gore work in numerous films. He is an effects master and, if anything, this film is worth watching just to see how this evil genius started his journey into horror filmmaking.

image

This film has all of the negative aspects of low-budget nineties filmmaking that I mentioned before. To me, however, this is no big deal. Since I grew up watching VHS, the quality has a special place in my heart. So I am not going to sit here, like some weird Blu-ray elitist, complaining about the picture and sound quality in this movie. There are plenty of people writing reviews on IMDB that just rip into these early cinematic endeavors. They are not taking into consideration the conditions that led to the creation of these films. At times, for instance, I thought the actors were bad; but, then I remembered they were a bunch of high school kids. The picture was dark and the sound quality was low; but, then I realized he managed to piece together a much better film than many people have tried to make with a VHS recorder. I know my short films for high school assignments were nowhere near what he accomplished here. If you are old enough to know what I’m talking about, I’m sure you can remember an instance where you realized how difficult it really was to make a movie.

I am actually really amazed at some of the things he pulled off in this film. The best parts of the film were the writing and, of course, the gore effects. I was actually a fan of the story-line and I really liked the framing story. It takes you back to the vampire stories of the eighties and nineties. You know, the ones that the Twilight films have ruined. The effects were also very good for what the director had to work with. At such a young age he was doing an incredible job of making brutal and messy kills. I  am still trying to figure out how he pulled off the amount of guts and rotting flesh effects that he did with such a low budget.

So in the end, it is not very often that you get to see the work of a genius in his raw beginnings. Although it is not my favorite of the Vultra releases, I am very glad I own it. Since there are so few copies out there, you may never have the opportunity to see this. If you do find it, you will have to spend some cash. I only recommend doing this if you are a hardcore collector or big fan of the director. I only say this because some people may not think the film quality will justify the purchase. Vultra collectors are hardcore though. Vultra releases get selected because they have memorable gore and are just downright fun to watch. Although I do not like it as much as The Necro Files  or Ice From the Sun (my next review in the series) this film definitely fulfilled both of those needs for me. I am proud to say I own it. Just look at the pic, there are only 75 of them out there!

bannerfans_15543539

3 thoughts on “Bad Blood (199?) Film Review: Vultra Video Review Series #2”

Leave a Reply

