Sledge (2014) Film Review: Clerks Meets Hatchet

wpid-8aa8599b-55e1-4c1c-a62b-4909b8af125b.png

Apparently this film came together for only $800. That is a pretty impressive feat when you start to think about how expensive everything is today. Most of you are probably used to hearing film budgets in the millions and millions of dollars. This is because those are the ones we hear about. They have big stars and huge advertising budgets. We are so used to these huge numbers that we see a film with $1,000,000 budget as fairly cheap. Well a million dollar budget is going to produce a very high quality film. We are just so desensitized from hearing about the budgets of The Avengers, that we start to think a million isn’t shit. Well it is, and there are tons of movies being made out there for a few thousand dollars. I have reviewed many films with budgets of very small numbers, because these are the filmmakers that need a voice. Films like Lights, Camera, Blood, The Lost Realities of Hogcaller, Black Land, Skumbagz, First Night, and Deimosimine all need help from people willing  to support indie horror. I am one of those people. Since shifting this site’s focus to the indie filmmaker, I have yet to be disappointed by any film sent to me. This film wasn’t sent to me, but I had read about it numerous times on Facebook. You can order this film from LeglessCorpse Films and find them on Facebook. I, however, was lucky enough to find this for free on Amazon Instant Video. This, however, does not mean that I am not going to buy it in the future…and here’s why…

image

When Kevin Smith hit gold with the indie classic Clerks, he thrust low-budget film making into the limelight. He created a cheaply made black-and-white film with witty and insanely memorable dialogue. He created a film that you could watch over and over again, because you loved the characters and the jokes. It is the film that made me start paying attention to indie films, because it was a film that made me feel like I was part of it. The characters reminded me of my friends and their lives intrigued me.

Sledge has these characters. I found this film incredibly fun to watch because those were my friends hanging out in the woods. They had real life problems and were getting into some pretty awkward situations while dealing with them, which is also pretty realistic. The main male character was full of sarcasm. He had the perfect dry sense of humor that a guy like me absolutely loves. He was the funniest of the characters, but humor ran rampant throughout this film. From the clever framing story to the killer’s one liners, this film will have you laughing out loud from start to finish.

wpid-d3dadd7c-0095-4a38-93c9-5d5c1487516f.png

As a slasher, this film is not only memorable because of the killer’s lines. It is more importantly due to his motives. Adam Lynch is a serial killer that has no idea that what he is doing is really happening. Is he playing a video game? Is he in a movie? Only his victims know the truth. As he wanders through the film with his trusty sledge-hammer, the viewer gets to witness a pretty deadly game. The idea that he doesn’t know what exactly he is doing brings up questions of violence in TV and video games. Are we becoming completely desensitized to violence? You will be happy to know that this films does not waste its time answering that question. It just moves on from kill to kill and trudges through puddles of glorious ooze.

The format of the film is also satirical in regards to the low-budget film and the late night horror TV shows. Our frame story focuses on a girl watching a late night showing of the Adam Lynch film. She hates it, but she can’t stop watching it. She also watches a commercial for the following week’s Amish horror film, rips it, and then states that she can’t wait to watch it. The filmmakers are obviously making fun of themselves in this situation. They are probably like me and anyone else reading this blog when it comes to horror. Good or bad, funny or serious, expensive or cheap, we want to see everything. Many of us tend to have even more fun with those that are funny and cheap.

This brings me back to Clerks. This film is funny and cheap, just like Clerks. It has the lovable characters and memorable dialogue that I remember from Clerks. It doesn’t take itself too seriously, and views its own horror in a lighthearted manner that all of us immature individuals will truly appreciate. I thought watching this film was a ridiculous amount of fun.  Unfortunately, it did lack a bit in the area of blood and gore effects. Maybe I’m a freak, but, I could have used a few more kills too. So while I can’t call it a classic slasher without  any memorable kills, I can confidently call it a classic horror comedy.

Stay dead-ucated!

4 thoughts on “Sledge (2014) Film Review: Clerks Meets Hatchet”

  1. I love Clerks!
    It’s very rare that comedy-horror movies manage to get it right
    As much as I love Shaun of the Dead, for example, it tends to largely miss the point
    At no point did I feel scared during the movie, nor did I think it was particularly horrific
    It just happened to be a comedy film with zombies in it
    The original Scream and Cabin in the Woods are probably the only two films that managed to balance the horror and comedy elements effectively, in my opinion
    How do you think Sledge stacks up? Is it more comedy than horror? Or vice versa?

    Like

    1. Scream and Cabin in the Woods are great examples of the balance a horror-comedy needs. I would add Feast and Slither to that list. I think this film leans more towards comedy, Slither probably did that too now that I think of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

