The Lost Realities of Hog Caller (2011) Film Review: The More You Listen to it the Less You Make Sense

image

Take This is Spinal Tap, add your favorite grindcore band, and throw in some of the trashiest people you’ve ever met and you have a pretty damn funny mockumentary film. The Lost Realities of Hog Caller is a film, written and directed by Tom Richards, that does just that. I ran across this film after meeting the filmmaker on Facebook. Since I had never heard of the film, I checked to make sure it was at least listed on IMDB. It was, but there wasn’t much to learn from the website. So I waited in anticipation, wondering what piece of shit this guy was going to send me. The best part about this story is that I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that this was not a piece of shit. Richard’s did a good job on a small budget with a small group of actors. I thought the characters being interviewed for this “documentary” were pretty damn funny. There was lots of juvenile stoner humor too, which is always good. The characters had no filters and frankly stated some pretty fucked up shit. The jaded girlfriend had some great angry one liners; but, the stoned pottery fanatic was my favorite. There is also a pretty awesome priest as well as very entertaining character with an unhealthy obsession with pigs.

There isn’t a ton of gore, but it’s there when it’s needed. It isn’t really a horror film, but some blood and Satanic imagery can go a long way in any film that I am going to watch. The cover states that it’s the sickest found footage film ever. It is not necessarily sick in terms of gore and violence; however, it is pretty damn sick when you look at the social commentary being made through the characters’ actions. I was actually pretty impressed by the clever writing, and at times I also felt like the film was satirizing the films of Harmony Korine, think Trash Humpers and Gummo. The bottom line is, I had a pretty good time with this film. If you want to check it out, it can be found on the Amazon link below. It would also be a great opportunity for you to support indie horror filmmaking.

image

For part two of my review, I am looking into the musical side of the film. This is not a soundtrack, but if you get both at the same time, like I did, you may think this to be true. Swine Infection is actually the new band from the man behind Hog Caller (the “fake” band in the movie). I have listened to this promo CD about ten times in my car on the way to and from work. I’ll tell you, it probably isn’t the music that some people should be listening to at six in the morning. It is scary, fast, and dirty; which, is just the way I like it. If you are fans of bands like Cattle Decapitation and Pig Destroyer, you will probably be down with these guys. From the band names alone, it seems like a new sub-genre should be emerging from this post. I think at this point I will coin the term Farm Metal.

You cannot get this specific CD, but you can find the work of multiple bands that are tied to the creators of this film. Swine Infection’s sound truly encapsulates the previously mentioned film, and I even found myself liking this CD more than the movie itself. Check out the website at www.hogcallermusic.com to learn more about some brutal ass grindcore music. You can also find Thomas P. Richards on Facebook, or search for his bands: Hog Caller, Swine Infection, and Lincoln Love Log.

Other films mentioned in this review can be found below:

One thought on “The Lost Realities of Hog Caller (2011) Film Review: The More You Listen to it the Less You Make Sense”

Leave a Reply

