Videogram and Lunchmeat VHS Fanzine (2015) Film Review: Amazing Original Music Paired With Classic Film Footage

VHS-front

Videogram is a retro horror music project put on by Magnus Sellergren. His major influences are John Carpenter, Ennio Morricone, and Fabio Frizzi. Some of his favorite film sountracks are The Burning, Slumber Party Massacre and, of course, Halloween. He has an amazing amount of knowledge about the musical side of horror films, so look him up on Facebook if you want to know more. You can also find any information about the products in this review on the Lunchmeat VHS Fanzine or Videogram Facebook pages.

Lunchmeat-T-SHIRT-ad

Two days ago I received the latest Videogram project as a downloadable screener. Sellergren’s idea was to edit Videogram’s haunting retro sounds together with VHS footage of old movies. The plan was to take the viewer/listener back to the nostalgic days of VHS film trailers. I have watched it twice in two days and I’m very impressed by what he accomplished with this project. It took me back to renting tapes at the video store, taking them home, and finding myself more interested in the trailers than the films themselves. I am also a huge believer in the grainy VHS format for horror films. So in the age of the Blu-ray, I found this man’s project to be an important one. He offered up VHS versions of his project in orange and yellow VHS tapes. He even had a 3D version for sale. The problem was that there were only 30 copies made. His tapes literally sold out overnight, even before I could order my own. Thankfully I had a screener to review, but the actual tapes still looked really cool.

Now, a mere three days later, Sellergren has contacted me with the digital download link. So now I’m writing this review based on the assumption that you will be totally pumped about snagging a digital copy; because, this is definitely a product I would recommend to my readers. The music is haunting and the editing is masterfully matched up with old movie scenes that you may or may not recognize. I only recognized about half of the films, and I still loved it. In fact, it made me realize that I may have to go find the other films and add them to my ever growing watchlist. Like I said, the tapes were very cool but at $22 each they sold out quickly. I think the $10 digital copy of this would be great for Halloween parties. I would hook my computer up to a projector and blast the soundtrack as the trailers are projected in my house or haunted house. The scenes are well chosen clips of savage kills and dark imagery. These would surely set the mood at a Halloween party. The music will create the perfect ominous tone in your party’s background. All of your guests will truly remember the environment you created, whether they are fans of the horror genre or not.

In closing, whether you are putting on parties, a fan of music, or a horror freak like me you will love this download. I’m pretty sure if you are reading this you can be described by at least one of the descriptors previously mentioned, if not all of them. So click the link below and give it a shot.

Digital Download-Buy it!

Leave a Reply

