Why I’m a Weird Horror Fan: What do you like that everyone else hates?

image

All of the negative talk about Rob Zombie lately has got me into conversations with people about why they are weird horror fans. We are all weird, but my discussions have focused around things that I like that many other people don’t. For me it’s certain remakes. For others, one person who commented on my Rob Zombie post, for instance, it was Halloween 3. This got me to thinking about getting people to share films or genres that they like, that are considered notorious to most horror fans.

Like I said, for me it’s remakes. Not all remakes are great or even good, but there are a couple I love and a few others that I defend against the masses of horror fans out there who tear them down. Don’t get me wrong, I still hate many of them, but I am much nicer to all of them than most critics. What gets me about most critics is the fact that they are quick to call a remake a disgrace to the franchise. Are they forgetting that every horror franchise has films in the original series that are utterly disgraceful? I say look at Hellraiser 6-8, TCM: The Next Generation, and Nightmare on Elm St. 2 right off of the top of my head. Basically, every original series has a film, or two or three, that were disgraceful before the remake was ever dreamed up. I think they need to remember this before they hate any sort of remake or reboot.

bannerfans_11136004

So to close, here are some remakes and reboots that don’t suck. The first Rob Zombie Halloween, Maniac, Evil Dead, Nightmare on Elm Street, and all but the most recent Texas Chainsaw Massacre film. With this being said, there are still many to avoid. Take Friday the 13th, Carrie, My Bloody Valentine, the second Rob Zombie Halloween, Texas Chainsaw 3D, and Hellraiser: Revelations for example. Go ahead and list some of your own on each side of the argument in the comments section below. You can also tell me about any movies you like that other people hate.

If you want the film in the picture above, click below.

Boogeymen: The Killer Compilation

Stay dead-ucated!

5 thoughts on “Why I’m a Weird Horror Fan: What do you like that everyone else hates?”

  1. High Tension gets a lot of hate due to the twist, but, I love the movie. The acting’s great, the direction, the gore is outstanding. I’ll admit I was taken aback with the ending, but, you know what? The ending made me rewatch it so’s I could try to figure out if the writers fucked with me. Great movie! I’m also a fan of Halloween 3. It was so different. I think many people went in thinking they were going to see Michael Myers, and were so pissed that they hated the movie just because Myers wasn’t in it. I’d have loved to have seen what the reaction would have been if it was named something like Samhain instead.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m still a huge fan of all of the Scream films (okay, maybe not Scream 4)
    I just love how they’ve developed the franchise, even if it did start to get a little too “meta” towards the end
    And the original film still gives me shivers, even when Ghost Face trips over his cloak

    Like

      1. Ha ha exactly!
        I think, as you’ve illustrated in a view of your posts, that seems to be the main problem with the horror genre these days
        If something makes money, why not make 3 sequels? And a prequel? And then a 3D spin-off?
        Then wait a few years and then…REMAKES

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

